New Music Chicago Presents the Music of Marc Mellits

The second concert of our series “New Music Chicago Presents” was a fabulous showcase of the music of composer Marc Mellits.  As the first recipient of the Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events Artspace Program Grant, the series is held each month on the THIRD THURSDAY at noon in the Chicago Cultural Center’s beautiful Claudia Cassidy Theater.  “New Music Chicago Presents” features New Music Chicago members performing music written since 2000 by living composers.

Marc’s program included:

Max for Violin & Piano (2013)
Agu for solo piano (2004)
String Quartet No. 4: Prometheus, movement VII – allegro groove” (2011)
Farfalle Cotte for 2 violins (2006)
Mara’s Lullaby for Violin & Piano (2005/09)
Titan for Bass Clarinet & String Quartet (2018) – CHICAGO PREMIERE



Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events giving a warm welcome to “New Music Chicago Presents…” audience and New Music Chicago members.

Introducing the concert…

Artists on stage: Cristina Buciu, Elizabeth Brausa-Brathwaite, Aurelian Pederzoli, Nicholas Carlson, Victor Sotelo, composer Marc Mellits, Marie Alatalo, Jennifer Blyth.


The Chicago Premiere of TITAN for Bass Clarinet and String Quartet.